Book your holiday

We guarantee
the best available
room rates!

On www.hotelwalther.ch
we guarantee the best
available room rates.

If you find a lower price on any other website on the same booking day, we will be happy to adjust the price in your favor.

Our Best Price Guarantee comes into effect, if the following conditions for the price comparison are met:

  • The same type of accommodation (with / without breakfast)
  • The same room type
  • The same reservation period / length of stay
  • The same number of guests per room
  • The same terms and conditions / same cancellation policy
Book Now

Redesign 2017

Back to the future

In 2017, Hotel Walther’s foyer, reception, lobby, Grand Restaurant, bar and smoker’s lounge received a fresh and lively new look. The project was the hotel’s CHF 3.3 million gift to itself for its 110th anniversary, with the aim of providing even greater comfort for its guests.

The new spaces were planned and designed by interior designer Virginia Maissen. With targeted architectural interventions and tailor-made designs that reference the local environment, she has given the ground floor a unique new look. ‘My aim was to make the hotel’s qualities and values, such as hospitality, tradition and longevity, visible and tangible for the guests,’ explained Maissen, who originally hails from Grisons. The motto ‘back to our roots’ played a central role in this process.

Many unique original elements of the Belle Époque-era hotel had been covered over in the intervening years. In close collaboration with local artisans, these antique treasures were revealed once again, carefully restored and combined with furniture comprising both timeless design classics and imaginatively playful creations. All the elaborately patterned carpets, wall panelling, sofas and other pieces of furniture were designed by Virginia Maissen and her team. The elegant dividers and balustrades with decorative embellishments were sourced from a local blacksmith.

Experimental accents are provided by works from internationally renowned artists. The Walther bar is lit by the ‘splendurir’ light installation (Romansh for ‘shining, pouring light’), which the artist Rolf Sachs designed specifically for Hotel Walther. The walls are also adorned with selected watercolours by the Italian painter Sandro Fabbri, and a TV screen is hidden behind an oil-painted glacier panorama to allow for sociable TV evenings. The family who own the hotel placed great emphasis on providing multifunctional, versatile rooms. ‘Whether it’s a wedding, cultural event or public viewing – our hotel should also provide every possible enjoyment for external guests,’ said Thomas Walther, who is the third generation of his family to run the hotel; he and his wife Anne-Rose took over management in 1997.

The hotel renovation has also generated interest outside the hotel, as shown by the number of press articles. For example, the Tages-Anzeiger, Private Air Magazine and htr (the Swiss news portal for the hotel, gastronomy and tourism industries) have all reported on Hotel Walther’s new look.

Buchen Sie Ihre Ferien
Glückwunsch!
Sie haben
garantiert den
besten Preis
gefunden.

Wir garantieren Ihnen auf
www.hotelwalther.ch die besten
verfügbaren Zimmerpreise.

Wenn Sie beim Preisvergleich auf einer anderen Website einen günstigeren Preis am selben Buchungstag finden, werden wir den Preis zu Ihren Gunsten anpassen.

Nehmen Sie die Bestpreis-Garantie in Anspruch, wenn die folgenden Voraussetzungen beim Preisvergleich erfüllt sind.

  • Dieselbe Art der Unterbringung (mit/ohne Frühstück)
  • Gleiche Zimmerkategorie
  • Gleicher Reservationszeitraum/Aufenthaltsdauer
  • Gleiche Anzahl Gäste pro Zimmer
  • Gleiche Geschäftsbedingungen/gleiche Annulationsmodalitäten

Neugestaltung 2017

Zurück in die Zukunft

2017 erhielten Eingangsbereich, Réception, Lobby, Grand Restaurant, Bar und Smoker’s Lounge des Hotel Walther einen frischen und lebendigen Look. Ein 3.3 Millionen-Geschenk an sich selbst zum 110-jährigen Hotel-Jubiläum, das den Gästen noch mehr Komfort ermöglicht.

Geplant und gezeichnet wurden die neuen Räumlichkeiten von Interior Designerin Virginia Maissen. Mit gezielten architektonischen Eingriffen und einer massgeschneiderten Gestaltungswelt mit Bezug zur lokalen Umgebung hat sie dem Erdgeschoss ein unvergleichliches Gewand verpasst. «Mein Bestreben war es, die Qualitäten und Werte des Hotels wie Gastfreundschaft, Tradition und Beständigkeit für den Gast sicht- und spürbar zu machen», erklärt die gebürtige Bündnerin. Dabei spielte das Motto «zurück zum Ursprung» eine zentrale Rolle.

Viele einzigartige Original-Elemente des in der Belle Époque erbauten Hotels wurden im Laufe der Zeit verdeckt. In enger Zusammenarbeit mit lokalen Handwerkern wurden die alten Schätze wieder sichtbar gemacht, sorgfältig restauriert und mit einem Mobiliar aus zeitlosen Design-Klassikern und fantasievoll verspielten Eigenkreationen kombiniert. Sämtliche Teppiche mit aufwändigem Muster, Wandtäfer, Sofas und andere Möbelstücke stammen aus der Feder von Virginia Maissen und ihrem Team. Die eleganten Trenngitter und Brüstungen mit dekorativen Verzierungen vom einheimischen Kunstschmied.

Für experimentelle Akzente sorgen die Werke von international bekannten Künstlern. In der Walther-Bar erstrahlt die Lichtinstallation «splendurir» (romanisch für «glänzen», «leuchten»), die Künstler Rolf Sachs eigens für das Hotel Walther entworfen hat. Daneben schmücken ausgewählte Aquarelle des italienischen Malers Sandro Fabbri die Wände, und hinter einem in Öl gemaltem Gletscherpanorama versteckt sich ein Bildschirm für gesellige TV-Abende. Die polyvalente Nutzung der Räumlichkeiten war der Eigentümerfamilie ein grosses Anliegen. «Ob Hochzeitsfest, kulturelle Veranstaltung oder Public Viewing – unser Haus soll auch für externe Gäste spannend sein», so Thomas Walther, der das Hotel seit 1997 in dritter Generation zusammen mit seiner Frau Anne-Rose führt.

Die Neugestaltung ist auch ausserhalb des Hotels auf Interesse gestossen, wie die Presseartikel zeigen. So berichtete etwa der Tages Anzeiger, das englische Private Air Magazine sowie das Schweizer Newsportal für Hotellerie, Gastronomie und Tourismus htr über den neuen Look im Hotel Walther.